Dogs can’t read MRI’s…

..but catscan!

Ok, that has nothing to do with today’s post but I couldn’t come up with a post where it would have relevance and I really wanted to use it.

But then again maybe it does go with today’s post because today’s post really doesn’t go with anything else. It’s a sort of “things I think I think” bunch of things that I think I thought this week.

  • I was at a book store, a real book store with real books and all, and there was a display of cookbooks. I always like cookbooks so I went over and the first one I picked up was a paleo cookbook and the first thing I thought was the same thing I thought every time I see a paleo cookbook. How do they know?
  • I saw a post come across my Facebook time line (and I wondered who came up with that name, but I always think that) that said dogs and cats can see apparitions. And I thought things not unlike when I think of paleo cookbooks. How do they know?
  • Why do cable companies advertise specials for “new subscribers only” on exclusive subscriber only channels?
  • Why are chilies hot but hotties are far from cold? (Originally I was going to use “Why are chilies hot?” as today’s title.) (In case you were wondering.)
  • How can 17 bad guys empty all of their machine guns and the hero doesn’t even get wounded while he hides behind a telephone pole yet he manages to never miss a shot with his little pistol? And how do they even write that up in the screenplay direction notes? “Bad guys shoot poorly?”
  • Can it still be called “breaking news” if it happened yesterday?
  • What’s the other half of a semiprecious stone?
  • Why is the opposite of “pro” con, anti, and amateur?

Will this never end?

 

 

 

7 comments

  1. angelanoelauthor · · Reply

    Ha! Your list reminded me of a question I’ve pondered before. What exactly is “old news?” Is that news that isn’t new? In that case, everything is “old news” the moment after it happens. Shouldn’t we call most news, “information you may or may not have heard before?” IYMOMNHH for short?

    1. Hadn’t thought of that one but yes, you hear it quite often. Clearly you are too smart for the English language. But I’m not so sure I want you in charge of abbreviations. Shouldn’t it be IYMOMNHHB?

  2. angelanoelauthor · · Reply

    You are absolutely right! hahaha! I’m not going to win any awards for my brilliance anytime soon! 🙂

    1. If your brilliance doesn’t win an award, the person wielding it deserves many. Thank you for adding much to my humble offering.

  3. I still want to know…if you have 24 odds & ends on a table, and 23 are jostled off, what are you left with? An odd, or an end?

    That, and why do we drive on a parkway, but park in a driveway?

    1. Wow! That odds and ends question is too philosophical for me, but if I ever get to Tibet I’ll ask. (That is where the really smart people are, right?
      Regarding the driveway/parkway conundrum, that’s easily explained. It’s for the same reason that you (yes, I’m talking to you) are wearing a pair of panties but just one bra! (Or so I’ll assume for, uh, philosophical purposes.)

  4. Tibet IS where all the deep thinkers are – the Ancient one and so on…although I heard that some Strange Doctor was recently spotted in New York spouting philosophical tidbits like this, too.

    I thought his cape was pretty cool, in a bohemian sort of way.

    Ya never know with these Hippy types 😀

Leave a Reply

