Walk This Way…or That

I haven’t done a “Today is…” post yet this year. Well, I did Presidents Day which really isn’t but you already know that, and I alluded to Groundhog Day a day or two before. But those are real days especially the latter which is as real of a day as you can get. What I haven’t done a “Today is National Purple Plastic Paperclip Day” type post. Well today is the day. Today is…oh! I can’t decide!

I’ve been having a problem with indecision lately. If you’ve been reading for more than just a couple weeks you can tell. Having gotten through the first 4-1/2 years with one blog design and the second style making it almost 6 whole months, I’ve gone through three schemes in four weeks looking for my voice. It’s out there somewhere. This could be it. But even that uncertainty is nothing like the dithering I’ve gone through to pick out today’s day.HMNI

Economists call it “Consumer Glut” when you are faced with multiple choices of essentially the same item. According to an article I read recently, there are 30 varieties of Tide liquid laundry detergent. That’s among 25 different brands of detergents. All of them right there on your mega-mart shelves. All just waiting to be taken home to wash your clothes. No wonder you actually come across people in the supermarkets standing in aisles staring. Just staring.

I had the same problem today. No, I wasn’t staring at 700 soap bottles trying to pick one. I have been trying to decide between two very auspicious observances to hail in today’s post. I suppose you could say my problem is actually more akin to Buridan’s Donkey rather than Consumer Glut. After discounting such notable notables as Panic Day, Name Tag Day, and Get Over It Day, I still had to choose from two.

World Kidney Day should be a natural for me. I am one of the one in ten worldwide affected with kidney disease. Not only am I one of the 748+ million people with kidney disease, I also get to be one of the lucky 2 million to have reached End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) requiring dialysis or a kidney transplant. It’s estimated that in the U.S. alone over $48 billion is spent on chronic renal disease. While 100,000 patients are on the kidney transplant waiting list only 20,000 kidney donations are made annually. Unfortunately for me and 747,999,999 or so others, kidney disease doesn’t go away. It can get better or it can get worse but it always is. So it would be in my best interest to publicize World Kidney Day.

But just as the donkey stood on that field I was trapped; trapped between the benevolence of World Kidney Day and the deliciousness of National Meatball Day. How can you not savor an entire day devoted to those scrumptious orbs of palatability? Whether beef or pork or chicken or lamb or all of the above, whether smothered in tomato sauce or sausage gravy, whether on a bun or nestled atop a mountain of spaghetti, there is nothing more mouthwatering than a piping hot ball of gastronomic love. Don’t let the name fool you. The best meatball emporiums will also serve those luscious little globes made of cod, shrimp, crab, rice, and beans and cauliflower. As one who spent years being told to get in shape I was delighted to have these flavorful rondures as my model when I proudly said “Round is a shape.”

So that’s the dilemma: to be kind to my kidneys or true to my tummy. I know what you’re going to say. Don’t panic. You’ll get over it.

That’s what I think. Really. How ‘bout you?

PS – Don’t forget to move your clocks ahead this weekend. If you do that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

